top of page

À propos d'ANA

Le réseau d'argumentation des Amériques

Le Réseau d'argumentation des Amériques vise à unir, soutenir et développer la communauté des chercheurs en argumentation à travers les Amériques.

Notre histoire

ANA a vu le jour lorsque deux récents titulaires d'un doctorat, confrontés à la nécessité de trouver leur place sur le marché du travail nord-américain, ont reconnu la nécessité d'un soutien organisé et soutenu. 

La mission d'ANA est de fournir un réseau pour connecter la communauté interdisciplinaire des études d'argumentation à travers l'Amérique du Nord, centrale et du Sud dans le but spécifique de soutenir les étudiants et les chercheurs en début de carrière. Cela se fera par le biais d'une grande conférence périodique, ainsi que d'événements régionaux plus petits se déroulant plus régulièrement. La principale priorité de l'exécutif de l'ANA est d'établir des liens à travers les continents dans le but de soutenir la croissance et le développement des chercheurs dans le domaine. 

Rencontrez l'exécutif

Michael Baumtrog Profile.jpg
Michael Baumtrog - (Président) Directeur Régional Nord
baumtrog@ryerson.ca

Département de droit et des affaires - Université Ryerson, 

Canada.

Michael est titulaire d'un baccalauréat et d'une maîtrise en philosophie de l'Université de Windsor. Il a obtenu son doctorat à la Nouvelle Université de Lisbonne . Il s'intéresse à l'utilisation du raisonnement et de l'argumentation pour produire des décisions éthiquement saines.

Constanza.png
Constanza Ihnen
Directeur Régional - Sud
cihnen@derecho.uchile.cl

Faculté de droit – Université du Chili.  

Constanza est titulaire d'un diplôme de premier cycle en littérature et linguistique hispaniques et latino-américaines de l'Université catholique du Chili. Elle a obtenu sa maîtrise et son doctorat en rhétorique, argumentation et philosophie du langage à l'Université d'Amsterdam. Elle s'intéresse actuellement aux procédures de discussion et d'argumentation législatives et constitutionnelles, aux arguments juridiques (sur la preuve en particulier) et au sens descriptif et normatif du terme "force" lorsqu'il est appliqué aux arguments.

Sarah Partlow Lefevre.jpg
Justin Eckstein
Directeur Régional - Nord
ecksteja@plu.edu

Département de  Communication - Pacific Lutheran University, États-Unis.

 

Justin a obtenu un diplôme de premier cycle en études internationales à l'Université de Denver, une maîtrise en rhétorique et un doctorat en rhétorique à l'Université de Denver. Il s'intéresse à l'argumentation multimodale.

Gustavo Arroyo
Regional Director - South
gjarroyo@yahoo.com.ar

National University of General Sarmiento, Buenos Aires, Argentina.

Gustavo holds three degrees in Philosophy, including an undergraduate from the National University of Rosario (Argentina), a Master's from the University of Campinas (Sao Paulo, Brazil) and a PhD from the Free University of Berlin (Germany). Gustavo has been a member of the Mexican Academy of Logic, and he is currently a member of the Argentinian Society of Analytic Philosophy (SADAF). Since 2023, he has been a part of the editorial board of the journal Topoi. Gustavo's academic interests span the theory of concepts and definitions, with a specific focus on the challenges involved in arguing about definitions within both academic and social contexts. Additionally, he is intrigued by philosophical argumentation and deeply engaged in exploring the problem of deep disagreements.

CWoods_2023-2.jpg
Daniel Mejía S
Représentant diplômé - Nord

 

Département de Philosophie - Université de Windsor, Canada.

Daniel a obtenu un diplôme de premier cycle en philosophie de l'Université d'Antioquia et une maîtrise en études humaines de l'Université EAFIT. Il poursuit actuellement un doctorat en études d'argumentation à l'Université de Windsor. Là, il fait partie du groupe de recherche sur l'argument politique et effectue des recherches sur l'extrémisme et l'argumentation sous la supervision du Dr Christopher Tindale.

hugo-ribeiro-mota-pressebilde.jpeg
Hugo Mota
Représentant diplômé - Sud

Département de Philosophie, Classiques, Histoire de l'Art et des Idées - Université d'Oslo, Norvège.

Hugo a obtenu un diplôme de premier cycle et une maîtrise en philosophie de l'Université fédérale de Pernambuco. Il est actuellement doctorant en philosophie à l'Université d'Oslo. Ses recherches portent sur l'épistémologie sociale, en particulier sur la relation entre les désaccords profonds, l'argumentation et l'oppression structurelle.

DanielMejiaS.jpg
Daniel Mejía S
Représentant diplômé - Nord

 

Département de Philosophie - Université de Windsor, Canada.

Daniel a obtenu un diplôme de premier cycle en philosophie de l'Université d'Antioquia et une maîtrise en études humaines de l'Université EAFIT. Il poursuit actuellement un doctorat en études d'argumentation à l'Université de Windsor. Là, il fait partie du groupe de recherche sur l'argument politique et effectue des recherches sur l'extrémisme et l'argumentation sous la supervision du Dr Christopher Tindale.

WIN_20221121_13_57_41_Pro (3).jpg
Harry Weger -
Conseiller principal
 

Université de Floride centrale

Bio .

Diego.jpeg
Nick J. Sciullo
chargée de communication

Département des Arts,  Communications et théâtre - Texas A&M University, États-Unis

Nick a obtenu son diplôme de premier cycle de l'Université de Richmond avec une majeure en histoire et pratique et politique urbaines et une mineure en études de rhétorique et de communication. Il a obtenu son doctorat en droit du West Virginia University College of Law et son doctorat en communication de la Georgia State University . Il s'intéresse à la race et à l'argumentation, au débat intercollégial, à l'argumentation juridique et  argumentation politique. 

bottom of page

About ANA

The Argumentation Network of the Americas

The Argumentation Network of the Americas aims to unite, sustain, and grow the community of argumentation scholars across the Americas.

Our Story

ANA began when two recent PhD graduates, faced with finding their place in the North American job market, recognized the need for organized and sustained support. 

ANA's mission is to provide a network to connect the interdisciplinary argumentation studies community across North, Central, and South America with a specific aim to support students and early career researchers. This will be done through a periodic major conference, along with smaller regional events taking place more regularly. The main priority of the ANA executive is to make connections across the continents in efforts to support the the growth and development of researchers in the field. 

Meet The Executive

Michael Baumtrog Profile.jpg
Michael Baumtrog - (Chair) Regional Director North
baumtrog@ryerson.ca

Department of Law and Business - Ryerson University, 

Canada.

Michael earned Undergraduate and Masters degrees in Philosophy from the University of Windsor. He earned his PhD from the New University of Lisbon. He is interested in the use of reasoning and argumentation for producing ethically sound decisions.

Fabio.png
Fábio Shecaira
Regional Director - South
fabioperin@direito.ufrj.br

Faculty of Law - Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

Fábio earned an Undergraduate degree in Law and a Masters degree in philosophy, both from the Federal University of Rio de Janeiro. He earned his PhD from McMaster University. He is interested in the logical and rhetorical aspects of legal and political argumentation.

justineckstein.jpg
Justin Eckstein
Regional Director - North
ecksteja@plu.edu

Department of  Communication - Pacific Lutheran University, USA.

 

Justin earned an undergraduate degree in International Studies at the University of Denver, a Masters in Rhetoric, and a PhD in Rhetoric at the University of Denver. He is interested in multimodal argumentation.

Constanza.png
Constanza Ihnen
Regional Director - South
cihnen@derecho.uchile.cl

Faculty of Law – University of Chile. 

Constanza has an undergraduate degree in Hispanic and Latin American Literature and Linguistics from the Catholic University of Chile. She earned her Master’s and PhD in Rhetoric, Argumentation and Philosophy of Language from the University of Amsterdam. She is currently interested in lawmaking and constitution-making discussion procedures and argumentation, legal arguments (about evidence in particular), and the descriptive and normative meaning of the term "force" when applied to arguments.

hugo-ribeiro-mota-pressebilde.jpeg
Hugo Mota
Graduate Rep. - South

Department of Philosophy, Classics, History of Art and Ideas - University of Oslo, Norway.

Hugo earned an Undergraduate and Masters degrees in Philosophy from the Federal University of Pernambuco. He currently is a PhD candidate in Philosophy at the University of Oslo. His research is on social epistemology, specifically in the relation between deep disagreements, argumentation, and structural oppression.

TBA Pic.png
Harry Weger -
Senior Advisor
 

University of Central Florida

Bio.

DanielMejiaS.jpg
Daniel Mejía S
Graduate Rep. - North

 

Department of Philosophy - University of Windsor, Canada.

Daniel earned an Undergraduate degree in philosophy from Universidad de Antioquia and a Masters degree in Humanistic Studies from Universidad EAFIT. He is currently pursuing a PhD in Argumentation Studies at the University of Windsor. There he is part of the political argument research cluster and is doing research on extremism and argumentation under the supervision of Dr. Christopher Tindale.

SCIULLO,+Nick.jpeg
Nick J. Sciullo
Communications Officer

Department of Art,  Communications & Theatre - Texas A&M University, United States

Nick earned his undergraduate degree from the University of Richmond with majors in History and Urban Practice and Policy and a minor in Rhetoric and Communication Studies. He earned his J.D. from West Virginia University College of Law and his PhD in Communication from Georgia State University. He is interested in race and argument, intercollegiate debate, legal argument, and  political argument. 

TBA Pic.png
Sarah Partlow Lefevre -
Secretary

Department of Communication, Media, and Persuasion - Idaho State University, United States

Bio.

TBA Pic.png
Tiago Gagliano
Communications Officer

School of Law - Pontifícia Universidade Católica do Paraná

Bio.

TBA Pic.png
TBA -
Treasureer

TBA.

Bio.